My Cat Is An Alien - Art Is a Tear of Noise and Infinite Silence CREP06


Clandestine auteurs the Opalio Brothers, Roberto & Maurizio Opalio (aka My Cat Is An Alien) have deftly sprinkled our solar system with their beautifully fragile, arcane soundscape via their own Opax label, as well as multimedia collaborations with vanguards such as Sonic Youth, Christian Marclay, Keiji Haino, Thurston Moore, Lee Ranaldo, Jim O'Rourke, Mats Gustafsson & many more.
They now present a new phase of their already celebrated body of work by abandoning their signature guitars and 'space toys' and swapping them for a new set of home made string instruments and reassembled electronic devices.

Roberto says: "Me and my brother decided to create a new beginning in sound: I started working with a totally new set of modified, de-constructed, electronic devices, while my brother self made a peculiar double-bodied string instrument."

This double LP, made only with this new set of instruments, comprises of 7 instantaneous compositions, with neither overdubs nor outtakes. Download coupon with mp3 version included.

A1. Preludio
locked groove*
A2. De Revolutionibus Orbium Coelestium
B1. Tabula Rasa
B2. The New Cosmogony Of Pain
C1. Raga Of The XXII Century
D1. Pas Aeterna
D2. Postludio

*An intentional locked groove was placed after A1 to bring the listener’s mind to reflect on the sense of the 'Preludio', the stylus will be locked after A1 until the listener moves it manually to A2 (the proper beginning of the work).

"Roberto and his brother Maurizio are the highly advanced lifeforms crewing the mysterious starship that goes by the name of My Cat Is An Alien (MCIAA), plotting a quixotic course through three millennia of cosmic music, from the celestial drones of the Pythagorean monochord onwards, to land up in the gravity-free realm of the No-mind"
Tony Herrington (The Wire)

"As 2005 went on, I became a bigger and bigger My Cat Is An Alien fan. This Italian brother-duo are cosmic travelers, giving us earthlings a taste of stellar dust.’’ Brad Rose (Foxy Digitalis)

Pressing Information

2xLP Vinyl + Download Code